Steering Committee

October 1, 1996

Dear [Committee Member]:

      I take this opportunity to request your assistance in planning for a state-of-the-art Health Sciences Library/Learning Resource Center (HSL/LRC). My perspective on the new HSL/LRC transcends that of a traditional library, and incorporates telemedicine activities, as well as, the venue for substantive community health education.
      You can be of invaluable assistance to the Health Sciences Center’s special effort for effectively planning a state-of-the-art digital HSL/LRC, through your membership on the HSL/LRC Steering Committee. Members of the health sciences faculty, external resource persons and senior staff have been invited to serve with the steering committee. Your input to this group is pivotal to my long term plan for the Howard University Health Sciences Center to evolve as a national model for excellence. Materials from the "Report of the Task Force on Planning Proposed Learning Resources Facility/Health Science Library" (1998) are enclosed for your review prior to attending the initial meeting.
      The initial meeting of the HSL/LRC Steering Committee will be held on Monday, October 7, 1996 at 2:00 p.m., in the Vice President for Health Affairs Conference Room, room 6003, Howard University Hospital Ambulatory Care Center. The agenda for the meeting is enclosed. Drs. Robert Copeland, Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Angella D. Ferguson, Associate Vice President for Health Affairs, have agreed to serve as co-chairs of the Committee.
      I take this opportunity to express my appreciation for your willingness to assist in this important undertaking.


Floyd J. Malveaux, M.D., Ph.D.
Interim Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine


Health Sciences Library/Learning Resource Center
Advisory Committee
Revised 10/21/96

HU Health Sciences Center
College of Allied Health Sciences
Dr. Marguerite Neita, Associate Professor, Clinical Lab Sciences

College of Dentistry

Dr. Ryle Bell, Professor & Associate Dean Undergraduate Education
Ms. Livingston, Secretary
College of Medicine
Dr. Pauline-Titus Dillon, Associate Dean Academic Affairs
Dr. Raymond Hayes, Assistant Dean Medical Education
Dr. Thomas Smith, Professor & Chairman, Biochemistry
Dr. Robert Copeland, Associate Professor, Pharmacology
Dr. Bryant Logan, Director Div. of Informatics & Biomedical Communications
Dr. Harold Minus, Professor Dermatology
Dr. Melvin Gerald, President, Medical Staff, Howard University Hospital

College of Nursing

Ms. Wilhelmina Bradford, Lecturer/Coordinator, Learning Resource Center

College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Mr. Marie Oyalowo, Assistant Professor, Clinical Administration

Health Sciences Library

Sekum Boni-Awotwi, Acting Director
Howard University Hospital

Ms. Roberta Saunders-Gray, Associate Executive Director/COO
Ms. Rachel Smith, Director of Staff Development and Quality Management for Patient Care Services

Howard University
Mr. Joseph Collins, Associate Vice President for Information Systems and Services
Mr. Harry Robinson, Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dr. Frances Stubbs, Coordinator for University Advancement
Ms. Norma Leftwich, Office of the General Counsel
Dr. Hassan Minor, Vice President for Government Affairs
Ms. Maybelle Bennett, Assistant for Community Relations
Ms. Margo Vickers, Executive Director, Auxiliary Enterprises
Mr. Mod Mekkawi, Director, University Libraries
Dr. Peter Keiller, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering
Dr. Ahlam Shalaby, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering
Mr. Edward Dunson, Associate Professor, School of Architecture

Community Health Providers

Dr. Roberts Williams, Private Practice Physician
Dr. Hazel Harper, Private Practice Dentist

Student Resident Representatives

Lolita White, Student Representative, College of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
Brandon Edge, Student Representative, College of Nursing
Dr. Carla Pugh, President, Housestaff Association, Howard University Hospital

Resource Members

Dr. Donald A. B. Lindberg, Director National Library of Medicine
Dr. Gerald D. Prothro, IBM Vice President, Chief Information Office, IBM Corporation
Mr. Kenneth L. Seymens, Senior Manager, Medical Informatics Group, Information Appliances Division, Apple Computer, Inc.

Office of the Vice President for Health Affairs

Dr. Floyd J. Malveaux, Interim Vice President
Dr. Angella D. Ferguson, Associate Vice President

Office of the President

Mr. H. Patrick Swygert, President
Mr. Bruce Costella, Special Assistant to the President for Capital Projects
Ms. Patricia Monroe, Executive Assistant for Capital Projects

hillier30.jpg (5826 bytes) Hillier Group / Amos Bailey & Lee, Architects--A Joint Venture

© 1998 Howard University, Washington DC
H. Patrick Swygert, President
LS-HSL Main | Program | Model | Plans | Elevations | Groundbreaking | Project Update | Advisory Committee
Health Sciences Library | University Libraries
Web Design & Production: André K. Mekkawi